Getting started with JavaScript

Why learn JavaScript?

As a developer, there are plenty of reasons to start learning any language but what value it adds to your development path matters a lot.

One fine reason to start with JavaScript is if you want to become a front-end developer but this line carries a huge weight within itself.

After getting a boon in the market for single-page application, the value of javascript developers has become more significant.

And to work on those single-page application frameworks, the core concept must be strong.

My reason for starting Javascript.

Different people have different reasons to start learning some language. But before letting you know the learning path which I followed, let me tell you my reason to start with JS so that you can be in sync with me.

I was a back-end developer but I got a chance to become a full-stack developer. I said yes but I don't know where to start with.

I was supposed to work with the AngularJS framework. I got into it but always get stuck in my work due to a lack of knowledge.

After searching for 6 months I got to know about the platform Scrimba via the youtube channel freeCodeCamp.org suggested by one of my friends named Asim Khan.

So, that was my reason, do tell me about yours too.

Mistakes while getting Started:

During the initial stages, learners typically do two types of mistakes:

  1. starts directly with the frameworks

    this approach let the learners get into the project but due to the lack of the core concepts, the task becomes hectic and frustrating for them.

  2. starts with data types & follows a conventional learning path

    this approach is comparatively better but learners quit in between. The reason for quitting is that learners only gain theoretical knowledge without any practical experience which becomes boring soon.

The correct way to get started with JS

The best way to get started to learn JavaScript learning is by doing the projects. But core concepts are also very important, then what to do?

Get a proper mentor!

Get a good mentor!

Here is all what you need! A good mentor!

But where will I get one?

  • Several blogs & websites are guiding you step-by-step through to start with a project.

  • The next very good source is youtube. Many highly skilled YouTubers are sharing their knowledge & guiding you step-by-step to let you start with your knowledge.

  • Last but not the least, an interactive platform that guides you and lets you dirty your hands with the same code. This is the best way to start with.

Learning with Scrimba

The best approach described above is provided by a platform named Scrimba.

Scrimba provides an interactive platform for learners to get their hands dirty with.

It helps learn the coding while doing the project and doesn't let any of the core concepts be missed.

I compleated a course Learn JavaScript for Free from this platform and really got the confidence of saying that I know JavaScript!

Per Harald Borgen was my mentor throughout my project and doesn't let my confidence go down in between the course completion.

Scrimba Alternatives

W3School also provides an interactive way of learning but my experience with scrimba is awesome.

To date, I can't recommend any alternative for this platform but you can do so.

If you get some other platforms like this for learning JS, please do recommend.

Hope this helps you.

Thanks!